News

Monday, June 29, 2020

The following is the full text of Mayor Doug McCallum’s remarks on the appointment of the inaugural Board of Surrey Police.

2020
News releases
Thursday, February 27, 2020

The City of Surrey has been given approval to proceed with the formation of Surrey Police Department.

2020
News releases
Monday, December 23, 2019

The Provincial Municipal Policing Transition Study Committee has forwarded its report to the Committee Chair, the Honourable Wally Oppal.

2019
News releases
Thursday, December 12, 2019

The Municipal Pension Plan (MPP) Board of Trustees has approved the City of Surrey’s application for Group 5 membership for its police officers.

2019
News releases
Wednesday, September 4, 2019

The City of Surrey is pleased to announce that an agreement has been formalized that will allow RCMP officers to fully transfer their pension, should they choose to serve with the Surrey Police Department.

2019
News releases
Thursday, August 22, 2019

Minister of Public Safety and Solicitor General Mike Farnworth and Surrey Mayor Doug McCallum have released the following statement regarding Surrey policing.

2019
News releases
Tuesday, July 23, 2019

As the City of Surrey works toward the creation of a city police department, Mayor Doug McCallum appointed the members of the Interim Police Transition Advisory Committee at last night’s Regular Council Meeting.

2019
News releases
Monday, June 24, 2019

The City of Surrey has concluded its public engagement process for the planned transition to a Surrey Police Department. Over a five-week period, 23 public engagement events were held across Surrey’s six town centres.

2019
News releases
Monday, June 3, 2019

The full Surrey Policing Transition Report is now publicly available. 

2019
News releases
Wednesday, May 22, 2019

The Surrey Policing Transition Report is completed and has been delivered to the provincial government for review and approval.

2019
News releases