July 6, 2021
Surrey Police Board Media Release

On June 30, 2021, a provincial Order in Council was signed, reappointing the following Surrey Police Board directors:

  • Cheney Cloke with a term ending December 31, 2022
  • Manav Gill with a term ending December 31, 2022
  • Harley Chappell with a term ending June 30, 2023
  • Jaspreet (Jessie) Sunner with a term ending June 30, 2023.

“I am pleased that Cabinet has reappointed Directors Cloke, Gill, Chappell and Sunner. They have proven to be highly committed to the role of civilian governance in building the Surrey Police Service and I congratulate each of them,” says Board Chair, Doug McCallum. “The Surrey Police Board has worked incredibly hard this past year, and I truly appreciate their efforts in supporting this historical transition.”

Provincial government, by way of Cabinet, appoints police board members in all municipal independent police services and departments. The inaugural Surrey Police Board was appointed with staggered reappointment dates, with the remainder of the Board appointments expiring at the end of 2021. Cabinet determines the length of appointments, with a maximum of six years.

A municipal appointment, also approved by Cabinet, has not yet been put before City Council for approval, leaving one vacancy on the Board.

Contact Info

Melissa Granum

Executive Director

Surrey Police Board Phone: 605.598.5800

Email: Media@surreypoliceboard.ca